- Years old:
- Tone of my iris:
- I’ve got lively hazel eyes but I use colored contact lenses
- My tattoo:
- I don't have tattoos
Massage therapists are now only required to complete twenty four 24 hours of continuing education every two year period. Massage establishment owners who are not d massage therapists are now required to complete a 2-hour continuing education course on massage laws and rules every two year period. Massage establishments wishing to change their address are now required to apply for an establishment for the new address. However, the only fee that shall be collected is the re-inspection fee.
Tennessee massage therapists are under the jurisdiction of the Tennessee Massage Licensure Board.
Select a tennessee massage therapy licensure topic:
In order to be d, an individual must meet education and examination requirements and clear a background check. The Board also requires references. A prospective massage therapist will need to complete a curriculum in massage, bodywork, or somatic therapy.
The total program must be at least hours state.
Tennessee programs are approved by the Board based on meeting the regulations set forth in Chapter of administrative rule state. Rules cover policies and resources as well as curriculum. Admitted students must be at least 18 and in possession of high school diplomas or general equivalency diplomas. At least programs hours must consist of science coursework. At least hours are to cover the basics of massage theory and practice. This content is to include concepts such as indications and contraindications, body mechanics and self-care, assessment and documentation, as well as actual therapeutic manipulations.
The Board has identified a of manipulations that are to be addressed, among them, kneading, friction, t movements, compression, and stretching. This content area is to include demonstration and practice.
The remaining 85 hours are to consist of related subjects. The following are to be addressed: CPR and first aid, referral methods, special populations, the Americans with Disabilities Act ADAcommunication skills, business practices, and specialized and adjunctive therapies, including hydrotherapy. Other subjects may also receive coverage.
The licensing agency has provided a list of approved in-state schools tn. Graduates of out-of-state programs will need to verify, at the time of application, that their programs included the minimum of hours in the five mandated content areas; the licensing agency will look for this information on the transcript.
Tennessee does not accept distance learning as being qualifying for initial licensure tn. The only current examination is the Board Certification for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork exam BCETMBwhich is deed as one part of a Board Certification process: a credentialing process that does not replace licensure, but indicates that the professional has met higher standards in some areas ncbtmb.
They are not required to send transcripts but are asked to confirm that they have read examination information.
Approved candidates schedule though Pearson VUE. The examination is computer-adapted and is available on an ongoing basis, but candidates are advised to schedule early. Score reports are automatically provided to one licensing agency selected by the applicant. Both in-state and out-of-state applicants will use the approved vendor, IdentoGo by Morphotrust.
However, some procedures will be different. In-state applicants will have their fingerprints made electronically. They will begin by scheduling.
D massage therapist educational requirements
This step can be carried out online identogo. Applicants without internet access may call Electronic fingerprinting sites are located throughout the state l1enrollment. They will need to send them to Identogo, however, for processing. The licensing agency recommends utilizing a tracking service.
Before mailing their fingerprint cards, applicants will register with IdentoGo. Out-of-state candidates may owe additional fees at the fingerprinting site.
Applications can be printed from the Department of Health website tn. The licensing agency will need official transcripts. The application packet includes a verification form to submit to the school s. The applicant will need two references from health care professionals. They are to address character and ethics.
Tennessee massage therapy licensure requirements and exam details
Applicants who were not born in the United States will be required to document immigrant status. The licensing agency sends out deficiency letters in cases where necessary documentation is missing; the required documentation must be received within 60 days of notice. Out-of-state massage therapists must document hours of education unless they hold certification through the National Certification Board for Therapeutic Massage and Bodywork and have held certification for at least five years. Massage therapists who choose the latter route will also need to verify active practice; details are found in the application packet.
Reciprocity candidates are required to complete five instructional hours that address the statutes and regulations governing Tennessee massage. They will also need to provide evidence of having ten hours of ethics instruction.
Massage therapist licensing information is available from the Tennessee Department of Health tn. Individuals who wish to speak to a representative about massage therapy licensure can call Questions about rules and regulations can be addressed to or tn. The Tennessee Massage Therapy Association is an additional professional resource tmtanews. Massage Therapy Schools in Tennesse. Massage Therapy Schools in Memphis.
Massage Schools in Knoxville. Massage Therapist: What are the differences? What is Holistic Health?